DAKAR 2019

Stage 8 : Pisco, Peru


Another day of gains for Hero MotoSports Team Rally in Stage 8

The competitors were greeted today with another day of fog, dust and fast riding as the stage 8 went underway from San Juan De Marcona to Pisco.

Joaquim continued to push hard against the fog and dust to bring in another good stage to his name. However, he seemed to have done some damage to his back while tackling the fast stage amidst the fog and poor visibility. He clearly looked in pain as he arrived at the finish, but not before posting a 13th position in stage 8, enabling him to break into the top 20 bracket with a 18th place standing in the overall classifications.

Oriol Mena posted another flawless stage with no mistakes and continued his last push to gain some valuable time over his close competitors. He finished the stage 8 in 12th allowing him to break into the top 10 positions of the overall standings by finishing in 10th.


“Today was a really difficult with lot of fog in the mountain and lot of fesh-fesh with rocks making it extremely dangerous to push ahead. I encountered dangerous large hole in the track which wasn’t mentioned in the roadbook so I hit it really hard and hurt my back. I am a little bit in pain but happy to finish the line and we see how it goes tomorrow. ”


”When I started today, it looked like a difficult and dangerous stage so I decided to ride safe and steady with no crashes or mistakes. The stage was completely destroyed due to the previous tracks and mixed start. So I focussed on my rhythm and rode more like an endure race with good speed and flow. I am really happy to be across the finish line today and now only 2 more days to go!”


Provisional Stage 8 Results

01Matthias WalknerKTM Factory Racing03h 55m 25s
02Pablo Quintanilla Husqvarna Factory Racing +45s
03Toby PriceKTM Factory Racing+01m 13s
12Oriol MenaHero MotoSports Team Rally +24m 38s
13Joaquim RodriguesHero MotoSports Team Rally +26m 24s

Provisional Overall Results

01Toby PriceKTM Factory Racing28h 53m 08s
02Pablo QuintanillaHusqvarna Factory Racing +01m 03s
03Matthias WalknerKTM Factory Racing+06m 35s
10Oriol MenaHero MotoSports Team Rally +01h 49m 51s
18Joaquim RodriguesHero MotoSports Team Rally +04h 30m 12s